Lumen Prize

Call for Artists: 2018 Lumen Prize – deadline 1 June 2018

Now welcoming submissions, The Lumen Prize is an international award that celebrates artists working with digital technology.

Open to emerging and established artists working with technology and digital media, the competition offers a prize fund of $11,000, plus shortlisted and winning artists will have their works included in Lumen’s annual programme of exhibitions and events around the world.

Now in its 7th year, The Lumen Prize has already awarded over $50,000 in prize money and has staged over 40 exhibitions worldwide, in cities including London, New York, St Petersburg, Shanghai, Amsterdam and Athens.

The 2018 prizes are:

Gold Award ($4000)

Moving Image ($1000)

Still Image ($1000)

AR/VR ($1000)


Founder’s Award ($1000)

The BCS Artificial Intelligence Award ($1000)

Meural Student Prize ($500) – (No Fee to Enter)

People’s Choice Award ($500)

The 2018 Jury Panel includes:
Louise Lawson, Conservation Manager, Time-Based Media, Tate
Fei Jun, Head of Media Lab at China’s Central Academy of Fine Art

Bruce Wands, Chair Emeritus, School of Visual Arts, New York

Irini Papadimitriou, Digital Programmes manager, Victoria & Albert Museum, London

Foteini Aravani, Digital Curator, Museum of London

Carla Gannis, Professor of Digital Arts, Pratt Institute, New York, Winner of the 2016 Lumen Prize Founder’s Award

The closing date for entries is 1 June 2018 at 11:59 GMT. The winner will be announced on September 27th at the Lumen Prize Winners’ Gala in London.

Shortlisted artists and recipients of The Lumen Prize from other years have gone on to achieve success around the world. Carla Gannis, 2016 Founder’s Award winner and 2018 Jury Panel member, has recently been commissioned by the Whitney Museum of Art for the net art project Sunrise/Sunset; Rachel Ara, shortlisted for the 2016 Still Image Award, has begun a residency at London’s Victoria & Albert Museum and Alexandra Handal’s web-based Dream Homes Property Consultants, winner of the 2014 People’s Choice Gold Award, has been acquired by the Museum of Contemporary Art, Denmark.

Key information:
Administration fee of US$47.50 for two works and US$23.75 for each additional work for all categories except the free-to-enter Meural Student Award. All fees go directly to the prize fund and exhibitions.

You must select a category to enter from: Still, Moving Image, AR/VR, 3D/Interactive and the BCS AI award.

The Student Prize is free to enter but only valid for still and moving image. To enter the Student Prize email for your free code.

For more information visit or contact