Faena Art District call for entries – deadline 15 February 2008

Premio a Las Artes, Faena Art District, Buenos Aires

Call for Entries — New Projects in All Media

The Award

LEA (Laboratory for Artistic Experimentation) announces the second edition of its prize for the arts. The competition is open to all Latin American artists and its aim is to enable the production of two unique works especially conceived for the “Los Molinos” building of Buenos Aires, a building of historical significance and the future home of the Faena Foundation.

We are looking for artistic projects that interact with the space, the history of the building and/or with the urban context in which it is located, in a manner that is novel, intelligent, and poetic.

The projects may include installations, sculptures, drawings or paintings, videos, new media, sound, or any of their combinations. A portion of the prize will finance the production of the works in this rare opportunity to realize large-scale artistic projects.

Characteristics of the Space:

See PDF files and Word document links on website for:

• Plans and photos of the space
• Plans and photos of the neighborhood and its relationship to the city
• History of the building
• Current state of the building


First Prize 100,000 dollars Argentine pesos (approx. USD 32,000)

Second Prize 50,0000 dollars Argentine pesos (approx. USD 16,000).

(For first prize a maximum of 70,000 pesos will be used in the realization of the work, leaving the remainder to the disposition of the artist(s); for second prize a maximum of 35,000 pesos will be used for the work’s production, leaving the rest at the artist(s)’s

The Jury

Carlos Basualdo — Curator, Philadelphia Museum of Art
Okwui Enwezor — Dean of Academia Affaire, San Francisco Art Institute
Jessica Morgan — Curator, Tate Modern
Jury Coordinator: Ximena Caminos

Entry forms, criteria and more information are available at: http://www.lea-fgroup.com


Entries will be received by mail with all forms and materials included.
Deadline for submission: 15 February 2008
Announcement of prize: March 2008