The MacDowell Colony Fellowships – next deadline 15 January 2008

The MacDowell Colony, the leading artist residency program in the United States, is pleased to announce the establishment of a new fund for artists. Thanks to a generous grant by The Leon Levy Foundation, artists accepted for a MacDowell Fellowship who need additional financial assistance are now eligible for such aid. These grants can be used to cover expenses that continue to accrue while artists are away from home, including rent, utilities, and childcare. Artists may also use the grants to compensate for lost income or in the event an employer requires an unpaid leave to attend the Colony. Equipment and supplies may be addressed by this aid, as well.

The MacDowell Colony, which was founded in 1907, provides Fellowships to more than 250 artists each year across seven contemporary disciplines: visual arts, interdisciplinary art, architecture, film, theatre, literature, and music composition. Set on 450 acres of beautiful woods in rural New Hampshire, MacDowell’s reputation for offering the ideal environment for creative pursuits is
well-established and highly regarded. Past Fellows include such luminaries as Milton Avery, James Baldwin, Leonard Bernstein, Willa Cather, Aaron Copland, Thornton Wilder, and more recently Jonathan Franzen, Bright Sheng, Oscar Hijuelos, Eve Sussman, Qin Feng, and Stewart Wallace, among many others.

Offering 32 private studios designed for the specific discipline of the artist, the Colony also provides meals and separate accommodations. Artists who are accepted to MacDowell through its highly competitive application process are allowed up to eight weeks of undisturbed time and space to pursue their work. The criterion is talent as demonstrated in a work sample that is reviewed by selection panels in each discipline. Application deadlines for the three annual residency periods are January 15th, April 15th, and September 15th.