Society of Textual Scholarship 2009 – deadline 31 October 2008

The Society for Textual Scholarship
Fourteenth Biennial International Interdisciplinary Conference
March 18-21, 2009, New York University

Program Co-Chairs: Andrew Stauffer, Boston University
[astauff [at]]; John Young, Marshall University [youngj [at]]

Deadline for Proposals: October 31, 2008

The Program Chairs invite the submission of full panels or individual papers devoted to interdisciplinary discussion of current research into particular aspects of textual work: the discovery, enumeration, description, bibliographical analysis, editing, annotation, and mark-up of texts in disciplines such as literature, history, musicology, classical and biblical studies, philosophy, art history, legal history, history of science and technology, computer science, library science, lexicography, epigraphy, paleography, codicology, cinema studies, media studies, theater, linguistics, and textual and literary theory. The Program Chairs are particularly interested in papers and panels, as well as workshops and roundtables, on the following topics, aimed at a broad, interdisciplinary audience:

Textual production and the social sphere
Textual cultures
Digital editing and textuality
The production and editing of “minority” texts
Theoretical and practical intersections between textual scholarship and book history
Textual scholarship and pedagogy

Papers should be no more than 20 minutes in length. Panels should consist of three papers or presentations. Individual proposals should include a brief abstract (one or two pages) of the proposed paper as well as the name, e-mail address, and institutional affiliation of the participant. Panel proposals, including proposals for roundtables and workshops, should include a session title, the name of a designated contact person for the session, the names, e-mail addresses, and institutional addresses and affiliations of each person involved in the session, and a one- or two-page abstract of each paper to be presented during the session. Abstracts should indicate what (if any) technological support will be requested.

Inquiries and proposals should be submitted electronically to:

Professor Andrew Stauffer, email address: astauff [at]
Department of English
Boston University
236 Bay State Road
Boston, MA 02215


Professor John Young, email address: youngj [at]
Department of English
Marshall University
One John Marshall Drive
Huntington, WV 25755
(304) 696-2349
(304) 696-2448 (fax)

All participants in the STS 2009 conference must be members of STS.
For information about membership, please contact Secretary Meg Roland at mroland [at] or visit the Indiana University Press Journals website <> and follow the links to the
Society for Textual Scholarship membership page:
For conference updates and information, see the STS
website: <>.

Papers presented at the conference will be considered for publication in TEXTUAL CULTURES.

John Young
Associate Professor of English
Marshall University
(304) 696-2349
youngj [at]